Certificate of Outstanding Performance & Leadership


From L to R: Michael Shaw, Emma Cooke, Michaela Gallagher, Olivia Hughes & Laura Ervine


Here we are, five of many very proud Stranmillis students who have recently completed the International Association for STEM Leaders Accreditation and received our Certificate of Outstanding Performance & Leadership!  Each of these young STEM ambassadors have successfully carried out a series of lessons in a local school, lead and facilitated a STEM event and engaged in up skilling their STEM knowledge. Despite each lesson being totally different, all activities had the same aim to inspire future generations of scientists, technologists, engineers and mathematicians! This aim was successful and they proudly displayed their work in a portfolio. In June 2017, Stranmillis had the pleasure of welcoming Dr. Usha Rajdev to view their portfolios and to see first-hand the work of students in the Stranmillis Student Chapter of the IASL

SU-IASL Student Chapter Officers



SU Chapter Officers

Left to Right: Emma Lynch (PR), Michael Shaw (President) and Sarah Walker (Vice-President)


Emma Lynch

Emma, a 4th year Primary Student, is responsible for the PR aspects of STEM at Stran! Emma has a love for Primary Science and wishes to use this role to develop and display different ways in which we can teach Science in the primary classroom!


Michael Shaw

A 3rd Year Post-Primary student who was awarded the position of President this year as a result of ongoing engagement with STEM, both in Stranmillis and local schools. Some of his work involves the use of robotics, drones and electronic-powered vehicles, as well as chairing the Docendo Racing Team at Stranmillis. He has also been awarded certification from the International Associations of STEM Leaders (IASL) and awarded the IET Digital Skills Award. This year, he hopes to implement an IET On Campus Group and expand interest in STEM throughout Stranmillis!

Sarah Walker


Sarah has a keen interest in Science and its benefits in helping people, which is why she is extremely privileged to be Vice-President. She has a range of experience with the medical aspects of Science and hopes to lead and inspire young scientists in the future.



IMG 0314

From Left to right: Anthony McGill (Vice President), Micha Lanz (Historian), Peter Soutar (President), Erin Curry (President), Ryan Litter ((Historian), Emma Owens (President).


IMG 0327

Officers w/ Dr. Usha Rajdev and Dr. Irene Bell