2014 IASL DC Summit

The INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION FOR STEM LEADERS SUMMIT was held April 24-25, 2014 at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center in Washington, D.C.


The STEM Leadership Summit was held in conjunction with the world’s largest STEM event, hosted by the USA Science and Engineering Festival. STEMconnector, the leading one-stop shop for STEM information participated as an initial sponsor and Edie Fraser, the founder, spoke to the IASL leaders and recognized them for their important work of impacting the lives of students every day through STEM leadership and education. Other partners include Diversified Education Systems (DES), a leader in “turn key” laboratories including: casework, equipment, curriculum, training and support. DES is further a collaborator with Root Cause and Pitsco Education, two additional partners of IASL. On the online side of STEM, Learning Blade and Career ATG offer career and STEM awareness, exposure and training to students. Finally, Concept Schools, a charter school management company and Vista Teach an early elementary robotics and engineering education company took part in the event as sponsors.

An awards and reception ceremony took place the evening of the 24th to honor a few of the outstanding leaders in the STEM field. 

The 2014 IASL award winners:

Learning Blade STEM Leadership Certificate:
Fort Belvoir Elementary School

Statewide STEM Leadership Award:
The North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics

Comprehensive School District STEM Leadership Award
Texarkana Independent School District

Corporate K-12 STEM Innovation Award
Vista Teach Instructional Services

Elementary Principal Leadership Award
Jennifer Hernandez, Principal of Marietta Center for Advanced Academics

High School STEM Leadership Award
Michael Steele, Executive Principal Stratford STEM Magnet High School

Higher Education K-12 STEM Partnership Award
Dr. Usha Rajdev, Professor at Marymount University

International STEM Leadership Award
Root Cause

National STEM Professional Development Leadership Award

National STEM Visionary Award
Steven Zipkes, Principal, Manor New Tech High School

"Powering Up" Technology Leadership Award
Jeff Matthews, Principal at Peachtree Ridge High School

STEM "Pipeline" Model Leadership Award
SySTEMic, Northern Virginia Community College

STEM District Leader Award
Jarrad Grandy, Director of Career Readiness a Kent Intermediate School District

STEM Economic Development and Community Engagement Leadership Award
North Carolina's Eastern Region: STEM East

STEM Pioneer Leadership Award
Concept Schools

STEM Student Research Engagement Award
Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy